Dairy, Soy, and Egg-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies!!

IMG_2088

I feel like I’ve been neglecting the blog a little bit lately so to make up for it I baked cookies!

I love chocolate chip cookies!  There are few things in life better than a homemade chocolate chip cookie.  They seem to be the perfect fit for any situation so I always try to have the ingredients on hand.  You just never know when you’ll want (or need) to whip up a batch.

I think I make a pretty good chocolate chip cookie and I have even been told that they are the best part of our Christmas party menu (which is fairly elaborate).  I love that people enjoy them as much as I do and love to share them (after some are safely put aside for my own enjoyment, of course).

Sadly, after E’s dairy allergy diagnosis, baking just wasn’t as fun as it used to be.  Besides, I barely had time for a shower when E was an infant, let alone baking.  Also, as I started to spend more and more time in the kitchen making safe foods for E, it didn’t make sense to waste time baking something he couldn’t eat.  Not to mention the fact that I was depressed that he might never get to eat my cookies.   So I went a long time without baking cookies.

By this past Christmas we had a pretty good grasp of FPIES and E’s allergen and I was feeling fairly confident about my E-safe cooking skills.  So I decided to adapt “my recipe” to be safe for E*.  With a bunch of substitutions they turned out well and we thought they were pretty tasty.  I’ll admit, they aren’t quite the same as good ol’ buttery, eggy, milk chocolatey cookies.  But I like them and still manage to eat way too many.

Also, E loves them! Words cannot describe how full my heart gets while watching him finally enjoy one of my cookies.

cookie eatingDecember 2013: E’s first taste of a chocolate chip cookie! 

Chocolate Chip Cookies – Dairy-Free, Soy-Free, Egg-Free (can also be Barley-Free)

Makes about 60 cookies

Ingredients

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (before we passed barley I used white whole wheat flour, which also worked)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 cup (2 sticks) Earth Balance Soy Free Buttery Sticks

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 chia “eggs” = 2 tbsp chia seed + 6 tbsp water

1 10 oz bag Enjoy Life Mini Chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 375º

Make your chia eggs: Grind the chia seed and add the water.  Let sit until you are ready for them (at least 5 minutes).

Combine flour, baking soda, and salt.

In a separate bowl, beat Earth Balance, granulated sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla extract until creamy.  Slowly add the chia eggs a tbsp at a time, beating well after each addition.  Gradually add the flour mixture.

Stir in the mini chips.

Drop by rounded tablespoon onto an ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown.  Let cool on the cookie sheet for about 2 minutes then move to a plate to cool completely.

Enjoy!

cookie
*Ok, true confession time: “my cookie” recipe is actually the recipe that is on the package of Nestle Toll House Morsels.  I dare you to find a better recipe that can even hold up to all of my substitutions!
8 thoughts on “Dairy, Soy, and Egg-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies!!

  1. Pingback: A Season of Celebrations | Frantically Unraveling FPIES

  2. Pingback: A Breath of Fresh Air and Summer Sunshine | F U FPIES

  3. Pingback: How We Spent Food Allergy Awareness Week | F U FPIES

Leave a Reply

