Mexican Cauliflower “Rice”

Mexican Cauliflower Rice

After the last recipe that I posted, which is quite possible the world’s most decadent vegan cake, I figured I was due to post something a little more healthy.  This mexican cauliflower “rice” is one of our newest favorites! It’s so easy and loaded with vegetables.  It’s very low in calories but tastes like a splurge.

Rice is one of the top four FPIES allergens, so it is avoided by most kiddos with FPIES, including E.  However, cauliflower tends to have a pretty high success rate (according to the results of a survey conducted by an FPIES parent).  Apparently cauliflower is also high in vitamin C and folate and there are a lot websites that state that it helps prevent cancer (I didn’t take the time to verify these claims).   I think of cauliflower as a basic vegetable staple that is great cooked or raw.  It’s also very low in calories – a cup of cauliflower is only 27 calories (a cup of white rice is almost 8 times that!).  So it seemed to be a good vegetable to add to E’s diet this summer.  I am happy to report that he easily and enthusiastically passed a cauliflower food trial and cauliflower has been a welcome addition to his diet.

Given our success with cauliflower I was excited to try some of the recipes that I’ve come across that use it as a rice-alternative.  It’s always nice to have a new dish for E and even better when it’s suitable to serve as part of a family dinner.  I have to admit that I was skeptical at first, could a vegetable really replace a starch?  The surprising answer is – yes!  I’ll admit that the “rice” is a little more crunchy but the dish is so flavorful!   The best compliment came from my brother-in-law who several hours after dinner said, “wait, there wasn’t any rice in that?”  It really is that good!

It’s actually pretty easy to turn cauliflower into “rice” if you have a food processor but it can also be done by hand.  I used the tutorial on the In Sonnet’s Kitchen blog, but it’s basically just a matter of grating cauliflower.  One thing I would add is to hold the cauliflower perpendicular to the grater, otherwise you’ll get some longer “grains of rice,” which isn’t the end of the world, it just makes it looks less like rice.

IMG_2631

My cauliflower rice! (I think its pretty convincing)
IMG_2633
 If you look closely you notice the longer “grains”

I had a very specific goal for this recipe.  I wanted to substitute Rice-A-Roni spanish rice to be used as a side dish for a mexican fiesta.  I found a couple of recipes online that used real rice and adapted it for the cauliflower.  This recipe calls for about 6 cups, which is about what you get from a medium head of cauliflower.  The recipe is pretty forgiving, though, so don’t feel like you have to use exactly 6 cups.  I decided to go with a vegan option here and use vegetable stock, however I have also made it using chicken and beef stock.  I didn’t notice a huge difference in taste between the three.  I like Kitchen Basics stock because they have an allergen statement on their box (I love it when a company is aware of the difficulties we face) and they are really helpful when you call to ask about their ingredients.  They are also available by phone until 8:00pm so you can talk to a real person when you glance at the box the second before you add it to a dinner recipe at 5:05pm and realize that the ingredients on the box changed since the last time you used it – not that that’s ever happened to me :).  You can probably make the “rice” a little softer (and more rice-like) by cooking it longer, but I’m generally too impatient and don’t mind the slightly different texture.   You can also change the level of spicy heat by adding diced tomatoes with jalapeños instead of mild chilies and changing the amount of chili powder.  I love a versatile recipe!

Mexican Cauliflower “Rice” (dairy-free, egg-free, soy-free, grain-free)

Ingredients

  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 minced garlic cloves
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped
  • 6 cups cauliflower “rice” (see link above)
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • salt to taste (about 1 tsp, depending on how salty the stock is)
  • 1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes with green chilies
  • 1 cup vegetable stock
  • one bunch scallions, sliced

Directions

Heat oil in a large skillet.  Add onions and garlic and sauté until just soft and fragrant, about 3 minutes.

Add the cauliflower to the skillet and stir to distribute the onion and garlic through the cauliflower.

Add the chili powder, oregano, cumin, and salt, stirring well between each one.

Add the tomatoes and stock, stir well.

Bring to a low boil, cover and let simmer until desired tenderness (about 10 -15 minutes).

Remove from heat and stir in the scallions (or use a garnish sprinkled on top).

Enjoy!

IMG_2650

The two recipes I used for inspiration are from Sweet C Designs and Cherished Bliss.
5 thoughts on “Mexican Cauliflower “Rice”

  1. Pingback: FPIES-Friendly Fiesta | F U FPIES

    • I tend to cheat a little with spices. If there’s a recipe that is safe except for the spices I tend to trial the whole recipe (the same way I would with an individual food). That being said, we’ve been dealing with FPIES for a while, E has a lot of safe foods and hasn’t reacted to any other herbs or spices. I also know I’m taking the risk that he’ll react and then I’ll have to backtrack to figure out what he’s reacting to. There are definitely other parents who would be more careful about trialling spices individually. My only advice is to follow your gut. Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

